2020 Exam Results

Congratulations to all our GCSE and A-level students on their successes!

Due to the Covid restrictions in place, we were unable to film our regular exam results montage in 2020. However, please click the links below for our official press releases and a small selection of photographs. 

A-Level Results Day - Thursday 13th August 2020

GCSE Results Day - Thursday 20th August 2020

Information for candidates

Updated: September 2020

Please click the links below to download relevant information and guidance on various subjects surrounding exams.

Warning to candidates

Coursework assessments

Mobile devices poster

On-screen tests

Privacy notice

Social media

Written exams


Changes to GCSE Grading

GCSEs have a new 9 to 1 grading scale to replace A* to G, with 9 being the highest grade.

The new GCSEs ensure that students leave school better prepared for work or further study. They cover more challenging content and are designed to match standards in the strongest performing education systems elsewhere in the world. Changing from numbers to letters means you can see easily whether an applicant has taken an old (unreformed) or a new (reformed) GCSE.

What you need to know:

• 9 is the highest grade, and will be awarded to fewer students than the current A*.

• The new grading scale has more grades at the higher end, to provide greater differentiation for higher achieving students.

• Between 2017 and 2019, exam certificates will have a combination of number and letter grades (A* to G) as students sit a mix of new and old GCSEs.

• By 2020, GCSE exam certificates will contain only number grades.

• Letter grades (A* to G) awarded for old (unreformed) GCSEs will remain valid for future employment or study.

A new GCSE grade 4 is broadly equivalent to a low / medium grade C, the standard for a level 2 qualification. If grade C is your current entry requirement, it would be reasonable to ask for a grade 4 under the new system, unless you have made a deliberate decision to raise the entry bar.

The Department for Education recognises grade 4 and above as a ‘standard pass’; this is the minimum level that students need to reach in English and maths, otherwise they will need to continue to study these subjects as part of their post-16 education. A GCSE pass at new grade 4 is therefore a credible achievement and should be viewed as such for work or further study opportunities.

To continue to raise standards in schools, the Department for Education recognises a grade 5 and above as a ‘strong pass’ and will be using this in its headline measures of school performance; a benchmark comparable with the strongest performing education systems.