<--- Click here to return to main menu

English - Year 9 

Week commencing

Lesson

Topic

Monday 12th April

  

1

The Hate U Give - Angie Thomas

Chapter 1 

2

Chapter 2

3

Chapter 3

Monday 19th April

   

4

Chapter 4 

5

Chapter 5

6

 

Chapter 6

Chapter 7

Monday 26th April 

  

7

Chapter 8 

8

Chapter 9

9

Chapter 10

Monday 3rd May

 

10

The Civil Rights Movement

Reading and exploring 'Caged Bird' by Maya Angelou

11

Reading and exploring 'Rosa' by Rita Dove

Monday 10th May

 

12

Poems for change 

Reading and exploring 'Good Bones' by Maggie Smith

13

Reading and exploring 'Torture' and 'We Alone Can Devalue Gold' by Alice Walker

Monday 17th May 

 

14

American Culture

Reading and exploring 'America' by Claude Mckay

15

Discrimination

Segregation and discrimination: Examining perspective in 'Sweetness'

Monday 24th May

 

16

Language in 'Sweetness' 

17

A reflection on love and guilt in 'Sweetness'

--------------------------------------------------- Half Term ------------------------------------------------

Monday 7th June

   

Monday 14th June

   

Monday 21st June

   

Monday 28th June

   

Monday 5th July

   

Monday 12th July

   

Monday 19th July

   

--------------------------------------------------- Summer Holidays ------------------------------------------------

 

 

English Contacts

Mrs Aldridge

aldridgel@wscampus.net

Mrs Barker

barkerm@wscampus.net

Mr Chambers

chambersl@wscampus.net

Mrs Davison

davisonl@wscampus.net

Mrs Graham

grahamh@wscampus.net

Miss Hunter-Robinson

hunter-robinsono@wscampus.net

Mrs Huntley

huntleyt@wscampus.net

Mr Little

littlec@wscampus.net 

 

Archive 

Please click the links below to access work from previous terms 

Spring Term (January - March)

Year 9 English (Spring Term)

Autumn Term (September - December) 

Year 9 English (Autumn Term)