<--- Click here to return to main menu 

Science - Year 9

Week commencing

Topic

Topic

Monday 4th January 

Revision and Test

Revision of C4 and test.

 Please email your Science teacher for resources and instructions.

 

Monday 11th January 

       

P5

Conductors and insulators  

Components and drawing circuits 

Current as a flow of charge 

Voltage 

Resistance and safety 

Monday 18th January  

       

P5 

Modelling electricity 

Measuring resistance 

Series circuits 

Parallel circuits 

Static electricity 

Monday 25th January 

     

P5 

Magnetism 

Magnetic fields

Earth's magnetic field

Monday 1st February 

P5 

Making electromagnets 

Electromagnets 

Monday 8th February 

 

 

B1 Cells 

Prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells

Comparing of cells

Order of magnitude calculations 

Useful maths skills

Specialised cells

--------------------------------------------------- Half Term ------------------------------------------------

 Monday 22nd February 

B1 Cells

Microscopes, magnification and resolution 

Using the microscope and magnification equation 

Viewing animal cells under the microscope and calculating magnification 

Case study and exam skiils

Monday 1st March 

B1 Cells

Diffusion

Osmosis 

Osmosis - Required practical (Part 1) 

Osmosis - Required practical (Part 2)

Active transport

Monday 8th March 

B1 Cells

Cell cycle and mitosis 

Stem cells and the use of stem cells 

Cell biology review - Part 1

Cell biology review - Part 2 

Monday 15th March 

Chemistry C1 and C2

Atoms elements and compounds 

Chemical formulae and conservation of mass 

Mixtures, filtration and crystallisation 

 Monday 22nd March 

Chemistry C1 and C2

Separation by distillation 

Atomic structure  

--------------------------------------------------- Easter Holidays ------------------------------------------------

 

 

Science Contacts

Mrs Britchford

britchfords@wscampus.net

Mr Dyke

dykei@wscampus.net

Miss East

easta@wscampus.net

Dr Finer

finere@wscampus.net

Miss Grayson

graysonn@wscampus.net

Mrs Mackenzie

mackenziea@wscampus.net

Mr McGrath

mcgrathm@wscampus.net

Miss Rix

rixk@wscampus.net

Miss Turner

turnerd@wscampus.net

 

Archive 

Please click the links below to access work from previous terms 

Autumn Term (September - December) 

Year 9 Science (Autumn Term)