<--- Click here to return to main menu

English - Year 8

Week commencing

Lesson number

Topic

Monday 4th January 

1

Introduction to rhetorical writing - Rhetoric ethos 

2

Introduction to rhetorical writing - Rhetoric logos 

Monday 11th January 

3

Introduction to rhetorical writing - Rhetoric pathos 

4

Introduction to rhetorical writing - Obama's use of rhetoric

Monday 18th January 

5

Using rhetorical language in a letter - A continued exploration of Obama's letter 

6

Using rhetorical language in a letter - Using rhetoric to write a letter to your younger self 

Monday 25th January 

7

Lennie James: Rhetorical writing for change - James' use of rhetoric

8

Lennie James: Rhetorical writing for change - Comparing Obama and James' use of rhetoric in the letter form 

Monday 1st February 

9

Rhetorical writing to empower and motivate - Churchill 1 

10

Rhetorical writing to empower and motivate - Churchill 2 

Monday 8th February 

11

Rhetorical writing to empower and motivate - Using rhetoric to effectively motivate a crowd  

12

Rhetorical writing to empower and motivate - Gandhi analysis

13

Rhetorical writing to empower and motivate - Gandhi rhetoric as a tool to encourage peace 

--------------------------------------------------- Half Term ------------------------------------------------

Monday 22nd February 

14

Using rhetoric to write arguments - Framework for writing 

15

Using rhetoric to write arguments - Opinion articles and rhetoric 

Monday 1st March 

16

Writing an effective speech using rhetoric 

17

Rhetoric and advertisements 

Monday 8th March 

18

Poetry America - Reading and exploring America by Claude McKay 

19

Poetry America - Reading and exploring Rosa by Rita Dove  

Monday 15th March 

20

Poetry resilience and change - Reading and exploring Torture and We Alone Can Devalue Gold by Alice Walker  

21

Poetry America - Reading and exploring Good Bones by Maggie Smith 

Monday 22nd March 

22

Poetry and powerful women - Reading and exploring to the indifferent women by Charlotte Perkins-Gilman  

23

Poetry and powerful women - Reading and exploring Caged Bird by Maya Angelou 

--------------------------------------------------- Easter Holidays ------------------------------------------------

 

English Contacts

Mrs Aldridge

aldridgel@wscampus.net 

Mrs Barker

barkerm@wscampus.net

Mr Chambers

chambersl@wscampus.net

Mrs Davison

davisonl@wscampus.net

Mrs Graham

grahamh@wscampus.net

Miss Hunter-Robinson

hunter-robinsono@wscampus.net

Mrs Huntley

huntleyt@wscampus.net

Mr Little

littlec@wscampus.net

 

Archive 

Please click the links below to access work from previous terms 

Autumn Term (September - December) 

Year 8 English (Autumn Term)