<--- Click here to return to main menu

English - Year 7

Week commencing

Lesson number

Topic

Monday 4th January 

1

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 1) - The structure of a comedy 

2

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 1) - Rule and order

3

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 1) - Conflict and patriarch

Monday 11th January 

4

 A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 1) - Love and unrequited love 

5

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 1) - Love in conflict 

6

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 1) - Understanding Helena 

Monday 18th January 

7

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 2) - The Mechanicals 

8

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 2) - Introducing magical setting

9

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 2) - The web of lovers 

Monday 25th January 

10

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 2) - The power of magic 

11

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 2) - Puck's mistake 

12

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 3) - The trickery of love 

Monday 1st February 

13

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 3) - The power of love 

14

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 3) - Love and arguments 

15

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 3) - Restoring order 

Monday 8th February 

16

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 4 and 5) - The clash of the settings  

17

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 4 and 5) - The weddings 

18

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Act 4 and 5) - Puck and the fairy ending  

--------------------------------------------------- Half Term ------------------------------------------------

Monday 22nd February 

19

Poetry - Introduction to poetry  

20

Poetry - What makes a poem a poem?

21

Poetry - Big ideas and emotions in poetry

Monday 1st March 

22

Poetry - Imagery 

23

Poetry - Structure 

24

Poetry - Rhyme scheme 

Monday 8th March 

25

Poetry - Rhythm 

26

Poetry - Metre 

27

Sonnets - Introduction to the sonnet 

Monday 15th March 

28

Sonnets - The features of a Shakespearean sonnet 

29

Sonnets - Iambic pentameter 

30

Sonnets - Sonnet 18: The Shakespearean sonnet 

Monday 22nd March 

31

Sonnets - Language in Sonnet 18

32

Sonnets - Structure in Sonnet 18

33

Sonnets - Writing about Sonnet 18 

--------------------------------------------------- Easter Holidays ------------------------------------------------

 

English Contacts

Mrs Aldridge

aldridgel@wscampus.net

Mrs Barker

barkerm@wscampus.net

Mr Chambers

chambersl@wscampus.net

Mrs Davison

davisonl@wscampus.net

Mrs Graham

grahamh@wscampus.net

Miss Hunter-Robinson

hunter-robinsono@wscampus.net

Mrs Huntley

huntleyt@wscampus.net

Mr Little

littlec@wscampus.net 

 

 

Archive 

Please click the links below to access work from previous terms 

Autumn Term (September - December) 

Year 7 English